Skip to content

If I were a bird I’d be flying south

September 30, 2009

It’s officially autumn. I hope that you are enjoying an equally bracing September morning wherever you are today – we are chipper and crisp here in not-quite-London.

I’ve been doing my best blue-arsed fly impression, busily buzzing about hither, but mostly thither. When I wasn’t hand-wringing the omega 3 oils from a mackerel I was covering chair seats and baking puddings in readiness for the arrival of good friends. Not sure that fancy creamy confections count as a creative piece.

So as there was no time to draw or paint anything, a rummage through my photos from last year produced this seasonally apt photograph, which I again tweaked with Adobe Fireworks. The poem is also mine, forsooth.

5-leaves

my-poem

19 Comments
  1. September 30, 2009 8:22 pm

    Not sure why you’re wringing mackeral oils… but I love the pic and poem.

    • September 30, 2009 8:59 pm

      Just my silly way of saying I’m starting to think of how to protect myself from the inevitable viruses that accompany the colder weather.

      Thanks – the leaves need to be dry as you can’t kick through piles of autumn leaves if they’re all soggy and wet 🙂

  2. September 30, 2009 8:26 pm

    June. This is great! I don’t know much about computer programs. Is Adobe Fireworks the same as Adobe Photoelements? I love the leaves are hung out to dry and the illustration puts a quirky twist to your poem. “Misty mornings heave a sigh” ; love that line. When I’m out shoveling my driveway and walk this winter in the cold I will think of a hag and her icy kisses and smile. I won’t forget that.

    • September 30, 2009 9:11 pm

      Sorry Leslie, I’m hopeless and haven’t a clue 😐 I’ve got Adobe Creative Suite which includes Photoshop but haven’t had any lessons on how to use them; I simply clicked buttons and experimented. Fireworks is instinctive for me and after a year of trial and error I can do just about anything I need to on it.

      I took the photo in my garden – the background was filled with foliage making the leaves (2 of which I sprayed with silver and gold paint) indistinct – so I pointed the camera straight up to snap the sky as well, then put them together and fiddled until I was satisfied with the effect.

      These progressively darker mornings and evenings have been extracting sighs from me (whinge-whine!) – the change from summer into autumn always makes me restless but I love the look of the countryside and look forward to the leaves changing colour.

      • metaphase permalink
        October 3, 2009 2:59 pm

        Hi. I dropped in from my brother’s blog (smalltowndad) I don’t know too much about computers, but Adobe Firworks is a different program than Photoshop Elements. Elements is a scaled down version of Photoshop, used for photos. Fireworks is a program that web designers often use and is focused on vector editing. Just a little useless information for your day… 🙂

        • October 3, 2009 4:00 pm

          Hi there and thanks very much for clearing that up. So now you know – hope you got that Leslie? Think that makes me more advanced as I can use Fireworks. 😉

          • October 3, 2009 5:12 pm

            Thanks, metaphase! There is no doubt that everyone is more advanced than I on the computer, June. I wouldn’t be doing this at all if it hadn’t been for a friend offering to tutor me in photoshop and then talking me into blogging to become more comfortable using the computer. I owe this fun blogging experience to http://jaybastian.com/
            You rule with fireworks!

  3. September 30, 2009 10:57 pm

    I love autumn. I just hate that it leads to winter 😀

    I love the image and the poem – especially the idea of winter as a cold-hearted hag – and when you have more time, you can always do riff on the image in watercolors. Computer-generated stuff is a great way to sketch out a composition that you can build on later. I’ve been taking Photoshop notes on all the beach stuff I want to turn into paintings.

    Gold and silver leaves reflect light so fantastically!

    You used two of my favourite words in this post, arsed and forsooth.

    • October 2, 2009 11:26 am

      Ay! The superlatives are reward for thine impressive summoning hither of a comment on something thou hath (or should that be hast?) seen before. Quoth I. *spits out cotton-wool forthwith*

      Seagulls, seashells and sandy shores and whatnot…mmm! You’re intentionally tantalising us….perchance?

      • October 3, 2009 2:43 am

        To that one can say nothing but – touche! 😀 😀 😀

        • October 3, 2009 10:24 am

          If you say “forthwith” quickly, over and over, you feel like Sylvester the Cat lisping and spitting out “Thufferin’ Thuccotash!” 😆

          Oh and a very happy birthday tooo youuuuu ♫ ♪ 😎

  4. October 1, 2009 12:18 am

    What an interesting image. When I first saw the leaves hanging up to dry, I don’t know why but it made me laugh. Imagine if there were really metallic gold and silver leaves on trees! How cool. I love when the leaves change and there air is nice and brisk.

    Nice poem. I know a few cold-hearted hags. And they have nothing to do with winter.

    • October 2, 2009 2:21 pm

      Great, they worked! The pegged-out leaves were meant to amuse….I mean, don’t think Nature needs help with her glorious bejeweled autumnal colours. Heh! I know a crazy 👿 troll-woman too, sadly.

  5. October 1, 2009 2:35 pm

    Thanks for a great picture of Autumn – The whole post carries the buzz of preparation for hibernation or laying up stores for icy days. Painting and photographing leaves is so “out-there” in a subtle kind of way.

    Look, I don’t want to bring a downer to this but I have to say that our snowdrops have shot their bolt and our days are getting longer and, yep, hotter.

    • October 2, 2009 2:22 pm

      Astutely observed Stephen – there’s duvets being fluffed and hazelnuts gathered – I’ll come and sit on your blog to catch some of those rays of sunshine…jealous!

  6. Deva permalink
    October 1, 2009 6:47 pm

    The photo is great. I don’t know anything about adobe, but it looks like a fun program to work with your photos on. I like how you hung to leaves in clothes pegs. 🙂

  7. October 2, 2009 2:22 pm

    Hey thanks Deva – you are a very talented photographer so don’t need Adobe to enhance your work.

  8. October 3, 2009 3:10 am

    Like the leaves and the poem. You are so talented.

Comments are closed.

