Skip to content

Pretty bubbles in the air

September 9, 2009

Today I had fun with these blobs of colour. My inspiration was the colour wheel that Carol King painted so well I assumed it was the main image for her post.

Also I had to try out some art supplies bought last week from an amazingly affordable shop conveniently situated right next to the London Portrait Gallery.

bubbles

I painted a water circle on the paper and allowed two opposite colours to merge together making a third colour…which was surprisingly difficult to do.

This little exercise was so much fun that I had a go at painting some bubbles which I then tweaked in Adobe Fireworks for a new blog header image. Not sure if I’m happy with it yet but it’s good to have a change.

bubbles-4

So here are my non-masterpieces where I was simply having fun. They don’t look as good on my computer. No comments required…there’s really not much to be said about a few paint splodges.

19 Comments
  1. September 9, 2009 10:38 pm

    Hi June. As you know, I was doing the regular evening surf through the blogs I follow and saw your header and e-mailed you right away. I have my students do circles and mix colors wet-in-wet in them but didn’t think to extend it to a bubble exercise. Thanks for the idea……I’m guessing the black and white bubbles were done in Adobe Fireworks? Love the header. Gotta like the practice in watercolor as it’s my favorite medium!

    • September 10, 2009 11:24 am

      Thanks Leslie, yep, I painted the bubbles, moved them round to my liking then added some tweaked photographs of bubbles. It’ll do for now as I think it’s a bit over the top but got fed up with the last one.

  2. September 10, 2009 12:32 am

    Wow, fun! Nothing beats colour bubbles for sheer happiness!

    • September 10, 2009 11:27 am

      Even the bubbles are smiling and looking happy 😆

  3. September 10, 2009 4:16 am

    There is ALWAYS something to be said for some paint splodges! Really, what is any painting but some paint splodges put together in such a way that they create an image/painting of some sort.

    These are fantastic and I will have to try them this weekend. Thanks for posting them. I love the idea that you not only practiced with the use of watercolor which is hard enough, but you also tired to create a third color by using two colors and letting them flow and mix.

    Great fun! Great post.

    • September 10, 2009 11:31 am

      Without your inspirational colour wheel painting… there would be no post here this week and no happy bubbles. 🙂

      As you can see on the last bubble, the simple beauty of the two colours merging to create a third wasn’t enough for me…I just HAD to give them a helping hand by adding extra colours as well.

      • September 10, 2009 1:20 pm

        I forgot to mention I love your new header with your “paint splodges”.

        • September 11, 2009 2:40 pm

          Aw thanks Carol, glad you approve but I’ve already messed it about and changed it …probably will again 😕 not quite what I want yet.

  4. asmalltowndad permalink
    September 10, 2009 4:02 pm

    Don’t bust my bubble on believing your talented… O.k. that was bad, but like the bubbles. I have painted a lot of fantasy art (Frank Frazetta style) and bubbles in swamps or streams were always fun to include.

    • September 11, 2009 2:36 pm

      Heh! Thanks. You’ve done it now….you’ve intrigued me with your mention of Frank Frazetta’s style. I’ll be over at your place, knocking on the screen, asking questions and pleading with you to post some of that fantasy work.

  5. Deva permalink
    September 15, 2009 9:02 pm

    Hello!

    I have been looking around and I would have commented on you “June-who?” page if I could. First I have to say that I love your header. It’s so refreshing! The post from september 1st is so amazing. I loved them! I will be coming back again soon. 🙂

  6. September 15, 2009 9:59 pm

    I had to let you know that your playing around with bubbles led me to try and paint without drawing first. I’m having a blast trying to paint flowers without drawing them. It’s interesting! So thanks, June!

  7. September 16, 2009 7:54 am

    Ha – if you get this mixing process right you are well on your way in watercolour. And if you have fun doing it perhaps that is more than half the work done. Your colours all glow here – but you do that a lot. Like the couple in the museum – glowing away. Neat June – S

  8. September 17, 2009 2:35 am

    They are pretty and you had fun. That Carol is such an inspiration, huh?

  9. September 18, 2009 4:13 pm

    Pure joy !!! Thanks ! They are beautiful !

  10. September 19, 2009 11:19 am

    Thanks everyone.

  11. September 28, 2009 4:30 am

    WOW and WOW and WOW, June. While I’ve been heaving crap onto the curb in preparation for selling the house, you’ve been VERY busy. I just love the stuff you’re doing – you’re really taking off.

    My house went on the market at the end of August and sold in TEN DAYS. The miracle of feng shui. I have until December 15 to clear out, so the down-sizing has really just begun. I’m inspired by what you’re doing and harbor secret intentions to take some art classes myself. Enough of all this word stuff. I need some hand-eye action.
    xo
    Joy

    • September 28, 2009 2:01 pm

      How lovely to see you here Joy 😀 I believe you could do anything you put your mind to do. Feng shui may have played a part but it was your determination and crap-shifting that did it – oh and the fact that you have a fantastic house – in which you clearly demonstrated your creativity, but not as much as in your wonderful, sumptuous garden which is breathtakingly beautiful.

Trackbacks

  1. Pinks and a Rose « Leslie White

Comments are closed.

