Skip to content

And then I was kidnapped by Aliens…

August 19, 2009

Hello Earthlings.

Remember when I used to create images and post them here?

Herewith the end results of my doodles…at last!

Self doubt is a tenacious monster if you allow it in.

And it’s always hungry.

selfdoubt

text-selfdoubt

selfdoubtcrept

text-crept

in

text-in

THWOCK!!! BLEEEURRRGH!!!!

Struggling as I am to find my illustrating ‘style’ I’m aware that there is too much detail and that rather like wearing too much makeup, it can detract rather than enhance. Must simplify! The more I learn the more I realise I need to learn.

My aim is to focus on drawing better lines…which is where my next art course comes in – and today I changed it for one that is more advanced with a slightly longer day. Roll on September!

And here (as requested by Anya Galkina) is proof of my struggles and self-doubt. I began with pen and ink then watercolour and experimented with watercolour crayons to enhance tiny details.

table

12 Comments
  1. August 19, 2009 5:15 pm

    June. These are fantastic! I’ve been checking sometimes twice a day…..waiting and the wait has payed off. These are so good..so creative. I want to see all those that are laying on the table, too. Your use of watercolor with ink is very impressive and the sequence of your entire post is so cohesive. I think it would make anyone return again to give themselves a boost. BRAVO!

  2. August 19, 2009 6:01 pm

    I love it!!!

    I mean them!!! The twisty eyes are great and the green one really made me laugh. I can see your reptile research really paying off – it has such a great scabbery texture. (Is scabbery a word? Well, it is now!) And his creatureness is awesome, this great way to make something grotesque and angry also very, very funny.

    In the shot on the table, the yellow monster really draws my eye, for some reason. Maybe it’s the combination of grotesque creature and sweet colour.

    Well done, lady! Great, great work. Especially for someone who claims to have had artist block 😀

  3. deanmelbourne permalink
    August 19, 2009 6:08 pm

    self doubt really is a monster! well done for pushing on.

  4. August 19, 2009 11:55 pm

    Coming back to say, I love the concept of drawing self-doubt as a big ole monster. There is a whole zoo you could do! (Perhaps featuring sheep?)

    I also think it’s a brilliant way to tackle the actual experience of being blocked by self-doubt – just draw it and make it silly and funny and cut down to size. That’s just clever.

    I know you are not a fan of the Harry Potter series, but it really reminded me of a moment in the books, where the kids learn to confront a creature that incapacitates you by taking the shape of your worst fear. The way to banish it is by imagining it as something funny, and yelling Riddikulus! at it. One kid confronts a scary teacher apparition by imagining him dressed in silly old lady clothes, complete with an overdone flowery hat.

  5. August 20, 2009 4:44 am

    Oh my! What does go on in your mind missy!!!! Love the self doubt monsters! Can I hire you to do other things like “low self-esteem”, “ego problems” and “self-disparaging remarks to name a few?”

    These are terrific. Funny and a little scary at the same time. I love what Anya said about the Harry Potter kids confronting your worst fears.

    But based on the above, I don’t know why you have self-doubt. I know, easy for me to say, but I think when you get to class you will outshine all the other students.

    Now that the son is back to school I hope you will post a little more frequently. Your fans need to see more of your work.

    • August 20, 2009 1:19 pm

      lesliepaints: Appreciate the encouraging comments, but mystified how you find time to check my site every day AND produce so much quality work of your own AND teach…do you drink much coffee? 🙂

      Anya Galkina – Studio Mysteries: My work is done here – I’m very pleased they made you smile. ‘Scabbery’ reminds me of a lovely Scottish slang word for ‘pale, sickly, tired looking’: ‘peely-wally’. Funnily I liked the yellow one best too but it was in biro and covered in experimental paint effects so…

      Wow! Nobody’s ever called me clever before, 😯 so even more delighted with that, thanks. Yes, I admit the Harry Potter series were torture to read aloud to my son at bedtime, but I suppose you’re right about how I cope with my life monsters – if you don’t laugh at ‘em they can eat you so – as you know, my sister has become an aggressive, super-dumb sheep and I picture my neighbour with false red nose, shrunk to the size of a mouse with a voice as if he’s inhaled an entire balloon of helium.

      Deanmelbourne: Great to see you back here – will pop over later (dentist first, groan!) to see what you’ve been up to. We all suffer from self doubt so have to find a way to get over it.

      Carol King: Too much goes on in my mind. 😀 You don’t need to hire me, being an expert yourself, at expressing anything you choose. Glad you liked ’em…if you saw some of my first attempts, you’d understand – but hey, it’s not a competition. I just want to run before I can walk and get frustrated at my lack of knowledge.

      The boy doesn’t return to school until next month so elbowing him off the computer for my turn. Doubt I’ll be blogging more often as this pace suits me very well 🙂

  6. August 22, 2009 4:31 am

    You have some very unique pets at your house.

  7. August 23, 2009 2:42 pm

    “Nobody’s ever called me clever before”

    What an outrageous oversight.

  8. poetrywizard permalink
    August 28, 2009 12:45 am

    This is the first time ever in my very short life at WordPress, that I stop by.
    I love Art in all of its forms. I must say that I am pleased to see such a talent amont fellow bloggers…er.. Earthlings, sorry about that!
    I will try to stop by more often. I really did enjoy your work, well what I have seen so far, can´t see´em all in one mouthful and say you’ve tasted them. Congratulations!

    • August 30, 2009 8:17 pm

      Anya Galkina – Studio Mysteries: Frightful lapse! 😉

      Thank you kind poetrywizard – you’ll enjoy using WordPress.

  9. August 30, 2009 3:22 am

    Draw something for your fans!!!!!

Comments are closed.

