Skip to content

Is this thing still on??

August 7, 2009

There are those creative people who seem able to produce a constant flow of images…
…. and then there is me.

I’m creatively constipated.

I’ve tried to keep myself regular by drawing, painting and looking at art for inspiration but the block stubbornly remains.

Undoubtedly the disruption to artistic flow has been influenced by a constant whirl of activities, responsibilities, a severely strained left foot, dreadful toothache, antibiotics and a demanding teenager who doesn’t appreciate that there is more to my existence than attending to his every whim.

Resuming my art classes in September is sure to have a positive effect on the frequency – as will my son’s return to full time education.

Fingers crossed that posting one of my first ever pen and ink drawings will have a laxative effect.

On my creativity! Not on you catching sight of this aggressive-looking image. Grrr!

disruption-#2

12 Comments
  1. August 7, 2009 11:35 am

    Thanks to those who’ve expressed concern over my silence….it has been a long time. I find it difficult to regularly post on an artistic blog where all the images are created by me. Oh the pressure! 😮 The pressure!

  2. August 7, 2009 8:01 pm

    Hey June – good to see you here again. Ah teenager son – this image says it all. I hope you are on the up. Look after yourself – Stephen

    • August 7, 2009 8:33 pm

      Non-no-no-no! He doesn’t make me angry like this – he’s a delight. Really. It’s just that during the school holidays there seems to b a never-ending supply of teenage people munching on pizza and playing guitars in our house. I love it but it’s not very conducive to the generation of new illustrations.

  3. August 8, 2009 1:18 am

    June.I love your drawings. From what I’ve seen, so far, are you captivated by eyes? Can you create with a pen and pencil much easier than with a brush? I like this drawing. It takes some people forever and eternity to render an eye with dimension. Teen-agers playing guitar? Tell them to sit still and start drawing them! Maybe they’ll all go to the next guy’s house OR you have models that work for PIZZA!

  4. August 8, 2009 1:58 am

    Hey, where did you get that picture of me at work? (Except for the blue eyes, it looks exactly how I feel most of the time.)

    Whew! You’re back. I’m so glad. And I’m glad that maybe your um regularity problem might be solved.

    God bless you with a teen age son and their teen aged friends and their damn needs. My sister has two of those and she always says to me teenagers. Can’t live with them, can’t kill them. It’s amazing. They were such nice boys.

    Love the drawing. It’s so expressive. And I agree with Leslie that you have a thing for eyes.

  5. August 8, 2009 2:56 am

    Great to see a new piece. Is this how that toothache make you feel?

    I think you captured Carol King very nicely. I’m not sure if this is her office pose or subway.

  6. August 8, 2009 7:09 am

    Aw, don’t be too hard on yourself, lady! Being busy definitely affects creative production, and everyone gets dry spells. Right, other commenters? Raise your hand if you get dry spells too.

    *raises hand*

    It just means that more energy has gone out than is coming in. What are some things you do to feed your soul? Stuff that feels nice, and wonderful and fun, and doesn’t even have to do anything with art?

    I love that drawing. Those eyes are fantastic!

    • August 8, 2009 1:22 pm

      Wow thanks everyone! You’re too kind 😀

      Lesliepaints: I believe the clichés about eyes being the mirror to the soul. Thanks for asking, but having recently come back to art – hell! 😕 It’s ALL difficult! The how/ why/which of utensils & products mystify me – which courses and experimentation should sort, right? Pen and ink are my favourite at the moment.

      Don’t-cha know that parents are old, embarrassing and lame? If the teens feel comfortable hanging here I don’t intend being the one to destroy that cool 😎 self-image he’s built.

      Hi Carol: Hah! I’ve seen your picture and you’re the opposite of an angry, ugly man – even your comments smile.

      Arty blogging takes up much more time than I’d anticipated – so I won’t be a frequent blogger – guess I’m just a slow plodder!

      wjones: Toothache makes me vow to never eat another chocolate…until it’s gone. Think Carol would agree that it expresses her office mood.

      Spatula: It’s obvious you have a cat – I’m soothed and positively purring again.

      Gaaah! 😯 Apart from delicious comments you mean? That feels like such an incredibly HuuuUUuuGE enormous question to just slip in there like that my friend – took me by surprise, probably because my life has been stuck for a while – but not for much longer as starting to rediscover those things that light my bulb…. Think that’s a cue for a Meme.

      Uhm, you can put your hand down now.

  7. eclectnik permalink
    August 11, 2009 2:44 pm

    Well the constipated mathematician works it out with a pencil and paper (boom, boom) but you did a great job with pen and ink! Super work, you goad me back to my sketchbook which I have rather neglected. I took lots of art stuff on holiday intending to do tons of drawing and painting, but of course I didn’t. Keep it up!

    • August 11, 2009 5:38 pm

      Eergh! Hadn’t heard that one. 😮 Sorry about the goading but you were prodding me so…

      Hope your holiday recharged your batteries and thanks for the encouragement, see you in a minute on yours.

  8. August 18, 2009 7:07 am

    Ah – so I jumped to the wrong conclusion – I think that is called projection – from my own experience of teenagers. Sorry about that. It is great that all the teenagers find a comfortable space in your home though. I think this is quite a special form of affirmation. But they sure can eat. Cheers hey S

    • August 21, 2009 3:20 pm

      They can – it’s amazing how quickly they can make a pizza disappear. Obviously he can be very teenagery but soon realises he’s been a sap.

Comments are closed.

