Skip to content

I am a walking statistic

July 13, 2009

This belated post comes with a Government Health Warning. Reading it may be contagious.

dontpanic

You can rest assured that it contains no mention of either the weather or Michael Jackson.

My recent absence was not as a result of hedonistic pursuits and copious consumption of alcohol…no. I had to cancel all that due to a minor operation in hospital – after which I was held hostage by the dreaded Swine ‘Flu pandemic – along with my husband and son. Some report that it isn’t too bad but that hasn’t been our experience. Cough!

So please don’t kiss me.

missme

We were entertained when our pharmacist kindly delivered our Tamiflu antiviral medicine – he left it on the doorstep, then rushed off across the road before telephoning to say it was there – he didn’t even knock in case we opened the door. Unclean!

It may not be a clinical cure, but I can vouch for the remedial benefits of reclining on a cushion-plumped sofa with a whole bag of chocolate raisins. Sometimes I think I was born to suffer. And yes, (munch-munch) I’ve heard all the jokes, countless times.

Don’t forget to wash your hands with antiseptic after reading this.

13 Comments
  1. July 13, 2009 11:32 am

    Hey June – good to have you back – the paranoia continues – I hope you are getting better.
    I have to concur with the chocolate raisins part – the peanuts will do when the raisins are finished but – those chocolate raisins…

    Cool illustration – S

    • July 13, 2009 12:21 pm

      So you DID miss me – ah! I’m fine now thanks, so take cover.

      The picture was a bit of fun but it hasn’t scanned well – very grey looking – should have been more pink and brown. Never tried painting with inks before; quite different from using watercolour paints but interesting to try.

  2. studiomysteries permalink
    July 13, 2009 5:55 pm

    Oh, no, poor InkSplodge and household! But I’m very impressed that you found the time and strength to tell your tale in a funny picture. Hardcore! (Gas masks are hot). 😀

    Ooh, inks – haven’t tried using them like paint before. What’s the difference? The way they flow, absorb, spread, don’t spread?

    • July 13, 2009 7:47 pm

      Not sure gas masks will catch on…slightly anti-social.

      I’m inexperienced in painting both watercolour and ink but on this occasion I suppose inks are different because they’re already in liquid form. They feel cleaner, thinner and…erm, need to think about that more next time, to properly write about it. You’re such a task-master Madam Galkina, but so right, as always. 😆

  3. July 14, 2009 1:19 am

    Wow! You found your creative niche with this one! I love it! The self portrait is so cool and you would have been a hit at our self-portrait show a year ago. You beat us all out with your creativity. Hope you are on the mend.

    • July 14, 2009 9:55 am

      Glad you enjoyed my bit of fun. 🙂 Feeling fine now thanks…sniff!

  4. July 14, 2009 3:07 pm

    WHAT a dissapointment! I came here looking for the latest on Michael Jackson and nary a word about him in this post.

    Sorry to hear you’re illin’ Apparently everyone is doing it. I am getting over a bout of bronchitis, but am thinking of telling everyone it’s the swine flu so they will leave me alone.

    One time I had to have surgery and was going to be out of work for approximately a month. It was for cancer, but didn’t feel like telling everyone so I just told people I, like Lindsay Lohan, was going into rehab. See you in 30 days.

    I for one am NOT A FAN of those chocolate covered raisins. I am a fan of chocolate, but not raisins. But give me chocolate covered peanuts, almonds, cashews, etc. and I can recline on a comfy sofa munching for hours.

    Yes! We missed you. Glad you’re back. Hope you’re better. Love the illustration! Keep ’em coming.

    • July 14, 2009 8:15 pm

      Oh no – my bout of Pig-flew pales beside bronchial congestion and the dreaded ‘C’! 😯 Hope you’re starting to bounce back. Understand about reluctance to reveal personal illnesses – took me years before I felt able to tell anyone about my ME/CFS – Maybe to do with needing time to adjust to having the illness yourself. Get some chocolate down you – always works for me.

  5. studiomysteries permalink
    July 14, 2009 11:41 pm

    Me, I LOVE chocolate covered raisins – they stick in your teeth in just the right way!

    Oh, I didn’t mean to task-master you, just got curious! So do you think you’ll work with inks again?

    If I were a true task master, I would get over my fear of everything that runs down the surface as I try to work on it, but I am a wimp and stick to pencils and oils 😀

    • July 15, 2009 9:34 am

      Inks are my favourite media so far – currently trying out a variety of things with them…which will be put up on here – but they are time consuming.

      Dood, I needed a nudge in the ribs prompting to focus on the practical aspects of my experiences with different media – especially as I get such a kick from reading tips and various techniques on other sites. It’s good to share these things.

      And wimp is the last word I’d use to describe you – now gimme me back my chocolate 😛

  6. eclectnik permalink
    July 15, 2009 4:16 pm

    Sorry to hear you’ve been ill and glad you’re better! Nothing else is so effective as the self-medication confectionery and chocolate raisins are the ideal choice.
    Keep up the good work.

  7. July 20, 2009 3:00 am

    How about a little peck on the cheek?

Comments are closed.

