Skip to content

Here’s one I made earlier

June 25, 2009

This week saw us painting dried chilis. Again.

Whilst they’re undeniably gorgeous, I’m not as enamoured with them as my art tutor obviously is – so I’m saving you from the tedium of having to peer at yet another shriveled pungent cayenne capsicum.

Also…I’ve been out enjoying this sunny weather we’re having here in Britain – so haven’t produced much recently.

This tangled, short-circuited brain is a pen and ink drawing illustrating a newspaper article about dementia. It was an assignment set during a (wonderful) short course I treated myself to earlier this year at Central St. Martin’s College of Art.

dementia

Now if you’ll kindly excuse me, until I’ve done something worth looking at, you won’t find me here sitting in front of a computer screen.

First, there’s a whole bunch of lovely sunshine that deserves some appreciation from me before I return to the drawing board. Hope the sun is shining on you too, wherever you are.

5 Comments
  1. June 25, 2009 6:47 pm

    Hi June – I like the concept and clean lines – enjoy the sun – we have storms, cold and rain – and please take your sketch book along – (o:

    • June 26, 2009 12:23 pm

      It was quite therapeutic doing the swirly shapes.

      Holding a glass of wine in one hand and a camera in the other makes it difficult to carry a sketch book. 😀 We’re attending a bunch of weddings, parties, reunions….you name it, we’re going along. Good weather is a rarity in the U.K. so we intend to make the most of it.

  2. June 29, 2009 5:10 am

    First, I love the title of your blog, very clever.

    I don’t remember posing for your ink drawing but then I forget stuff now. Did you pay me?

    A nice drawing AND I like your pepper paintings.

    • June 30, 2009 9:38 am

      Methinks you flatter me too much kind sir. Don’t stop. Cheque is in the post. 😀

  3. July 2, 2009 11:23 pm

    Great illustration. My mom was just diagnosed with dementia, and I wish I could plug her brain back in. Many times I’m starting to feel like mine is unplugged as well.

    Enjoy the sun, we have just finished the 2nd wettest June since they started recording weather whenever that was. (NYC) And July so far hasn’t been any better.

    Carol: So sorry about your mother. It’s incredibly difficult when a loved one begins to decline, – happened with my dad too – it’s scary and frustrating, especially when they reject help or lash out in anger – and can drive you a bit crazy if you don’t take care of yourself, can’t get a break or have someone to give you some support too.

Comments are closed.

