Skip to content

Sue Rubira at BP National Portrait GalleryExhibition

June 18, 2009

I’d never have imagined that an incredible, stunningly painted image like this would appear on my blog.

Before you think I’ve been faking my lack of painting skills, you should know that this wonderful, mesmerizing face was beautifully and intricately painted by the incredibly talented British artist Sue Rubira. The face draws you in and you see the person behind the eyes. It’s hard to look away.

sue-rubira+maggie

Today sees the start of the BP exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery in London where Sue will be exhibiting this intimately observed portrait called “Maggie”. It was briefly shown on the BBC1 News last night as well. Many congratulations Sue.

I’m going to see it ‘in the flesh’ next week and I honestly can’t wait.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
UPDATE: After finally getting to see this wonderful painting I am even more in awe of Sue Rubira as an artist. I can honestly say that the image on this post doesn’t do justice to the actual painting. Not only does Sue have the ability to produce a wonderful painting with incredible skill – she seems to have captured the very essence of Maggie. I’m not exaggerating when I say that looking at the original it is possible to clearly see the love that flows between model and artist.

8 Comments
  1. studiomysteries permalink
    June 18, 2009 5:35 pm

    Wow. Wow. Wow.

    Also, wow.

    🙂

    This portrait is so, so incredible.

    In other words, wow.

  2. June 18, 2009 7:01 pm

    Thanks June, shame I missed the news!

    • June 18, 2009 8:05 pm

      The pleasure’s all mine – very well done – they were probably filming when you were there at the private preview.

  3. studiomysteries permalink
    June 20, 2009 8:26 pm

    I don’t know what it is that makes sheer realism in a picture so satisfying for me, but I just can’t get enough of that. And this portrait has so much more to offer than just representation of a physical reality – but the fact that it is reality shown so WELL makes it utterly compelling and irresistible.

    Mmm… realism…

    • June 21, 2009 11:50 am

      Stop licking the screen Anya! 😀 Sue’s truthful portrayal still allows the viewer to see that it is actually a painting and not a photograph. I’ve run out of adjectives to describe her abilities….uh-oh! You’re drooling again! 😆

  4. July 8, 2009 1:36 pm

    No words…just in awe (with my jaws dropped and my eyes wide-open!)

  5. sonya chasey permalink
    August 24, 2009 12:24 pm

    Hi inksplodge

    I just ended up looking at all those portraits in your link to the Nat Portrait Gallery. Really Amazing.
    It’s awe inspiring ( a if you’re not careful , sometimes a bit scarey!)just how many hugely talented artists exist. In the end i think we have to just believe in ourselves & get on & do what we do though.Otherwise you’d give up!

Comments are closed.

