Skip to content

Feelin’…

June 16, 2009
Dry Brush

Dry Brush

hot…

Wet on Wet

Wet on Wet

HOT…

Wax Resist

Wax Resist

H-O-T !! ♬ ♫ ♪ ♩

Yesterday’s art class task was to paint pictures of chili peppers.

It would be fair to suppose that watercolours aren’t my strong point (was that a snigger?) judging by these amateur attempts. Which is why I’m taking lessons and – these aren’t supposed to be a true depiction of the peppers. It was more about utilising the techniques we’d learned, such as:

    • Dry Brush; wet paint on a dry surface – each layer of paint must be dry before painting on top of it. This builds up a rich intensity of colour and outlines remain crisp.
    • Wet on Wet; wet paint is applied directly onto another layer of wet paint. The colours bleed into each other, softly diffusing like fluffy clouds. I find this scary and unpredictable and much more practise is required.
    • Wax Resist; some areas are blocked out with wax crayons or candles, and then when washed over with watercolour paints, the wax repels the paint leaving the wax colour peeking through in a pleasing manner. You must (surely) have done this kind of thing at school, scratching out patterns in the dried black paint to reveal psychedelic colours beneath.
  • Alright, you probably already know all this. Should you get an urge to leave a comment please don’t feel obliged to say nice things about my offerings. Honest.

    This course is so much fun that I never want it to end. So I’ve signed up for the rest of the year and contemplating taking Life Drawing classes too…which should keep me out of mischief.

    You know what would be ideal with all this lovely sunshine and red hot chilis? Vodka and cranberry ice-lollies.

    Olé-olé, olé-olé!

    13 Comments
    1. June 16, 2009 7:51 pm

      Hey these are cool pictures – nice blues! – your wax resist did not show but I will try later – it may be on my side. I like the top wet in wet and the dry brush

      • June 16, 2009 8:34 pm

        It’s so exciting to receive a comment from an accomplished watercolourist – for which I’m grateful. It’s seriously unnerving putting my own images up for all to see.

        I use the most basic of colour pallets (soon to be remedied), the course is only one morning per week and although relishing the journey, I wish I knew more.

        Must figure out how to upload images that enlarge when somebody clicks on them.

    2. studiomysteries permalink
      June 17, 2009 8:11 am

      Ooh, the wax resist one looks really good and peppery! The highlight really helps to show the roundness of the form. Also, like the ‘tude in all of them! They are ‘tude-a-licious. Although one of the wetties kinda looks like a pizza 😛

      (Or maybe it’s because I am hungry and eating pizza right now.)

      • June 17, 2009 10:43 am

        He-heeeee! Just so long as it’s ‘tude, not “turd” dude! And more like last month’s pizza, with accompanying blue mold…didn’t put you off your meal did I ❓ 😛

        Yep! Really need to work on going fluffy and loosening up my brush. 😀 Have just ordered some amazing books so practise, practise and more of the same.

    3. studiomysteries permalink
      June 17, 2009 7:32 pm

      Hah! I think your paint handling is pretty ass-kicking already – I can’t control watercolor as well as you do! I generally can’t deal with ink and watercolor because I’m a control freak and like to redo things until they look right, so working with something so loose and drippy and spontaneous makes me climb the walls 😀

      Your course sounds like a blast though!

      • June 17, 2009 8:55 pm

        Coming from you, that’s praise indeed *drops deep curtsy*. It’s difficult to judge them myself – it’s a bit like spending all day preparing a huge banquet-type meal for friends, only to find that when everyone is seated around the table you can’t taste the food because you’ve had your nose in the kitchen for so long, stirring and basting all day.

        I enjoy the opposite from you – slapping it on hyper-actively and spontaneously without overworking it, with a twist of what-the-hell thrown in. Or at least that’s what I hope my style will be once I’ve learned a few more techniques. :mrgreen: Oh and let’s not forget the ‘tude, plenty of that on top!

    4. June 19, 2009 4:02 am

      Hi, I came here via Stephen Quirke’s site. I really like your watercolors! I think these peppers look great. I’m already feeling a burning sensation from looking at them!

      • June 19, 2009 8:37 am

        Oh hi Carol, I saw you on Stephen’s blog. Thanks for the encouraging feedback on my first attempt.

    5. August 21, 2009 9:13 pm

      Hot chilies do wonders for Italian sausage soup–feel compelled to share receipe for soup since you’ve shared receipe for wax & watercolors–AND chilies–LOL
      –all to taste–
      –olive oil for sauteeing garlic and Italian sausage squeezed out of casings to suit
      –onions, mushrooms, tomatoes, zuchinni, yellow squash added
      –red, green, orange peppers and Chilie peppers –amont dependent on your desire for Heat-salt if wanted
      –about 5 cups of water –more or less depending on how much broth you like
      –let simmer about 15 minutes–COOL–then reheat after all the flavors have had time to ‘brew’.
      hmm–only a looney would post a receipe on an art blog–but food is art too and chilis are the art posted..and you see my funky logic..
      –thanks for your patience…grins–

    6. August 23, 2009 12:38 pm

      Hello InkSplodge! –oh it’s a perfectly wonderful soup–or can be once you get it all to your liiking. And it’s always ‘different’ if you use all fresh ingredients–not all squashes, onions, sausages tastes the same every time. And if you toss in fresh basil & parsley–mmm then the flavors change again.
      Makiing soup from scratch is much more delicious than anything from a can, dehydrated mix, or box. Like ‘art’—it’s most interesting when it’s ‘unique’.
      waves to you~~~~~~

    Trackbacks

    1. Jonathon Oaks Field « Leslie White
    2. VaJayJay Byrne Playground « Carolking's Weblog

    Comments are closed.

