Skip to content

My whole life suddenly made sense….Yikes!

June 3, 2009

You find me (sipping coffee) at the outset of my quest to improve my knowledge of drawing and painting techniques…

…yet already struggling with how best to convey this process that requires much more than mere talent.

Perhaps a good idea would be to tell you why I’m here. I’m a lapsed illustrative artist. A returner.

Anyway, at twenty I reluctantly chucked in art college, resignedly believing that art was a futile indulgence that would yield adversity, not a reasonable living. For yonks I applied myself to the dire tedium of devising the most beneficial way to drive a desk with a telephone grafted to one ear whilst plugged into a computer like a battery hen – making monumental decisions about whether to staple or paperclip.

My whole life suddenly made sense....Yikes!

My whole life suddenly made sense....Yikes!

The inspiration to embrace again my inner artist was ignited by the impassioned fine artist and writer, (amongst other things) Anya Galkina who’s educational art blog truly energises my creativity. Her courageous decision to sacrifice financial security and corporate obscurity for the full time study of classical painting and drawing compelled me to make some choices of my own. Anya’s bravery provoked me into learning how to utilise my talents instead of squandering them.

It’s all her fault!

Blessings be upon her.

5 Comments
  1. June 3, 2009 8:52 pm

    I have been an art director for 23 years and do mostly commercial design. But originally I was a southern Indiana fine artist (not a huge market) that was bored with painting and drawing. But now that I have more time and less stress, I have found myself painting again and love to study the creativity of others. Good luck in finding your passion, and post your work!

    • June 4, 2009 10:29 am

      Thanks for the encouragement smalltowndad and I will put my work up soon.

  2. studiomysteries permalink
    June 4, 2009 11:34 pm

    Oh sure! Blame it all on me! One day your husband and children will show up at my doorstep with a rifle if you keep this up 😀

    No, seriously, I am really glad that the stuff I write and post helps you and very excited that you are re-embracing your inner artist!

    The thing is that art vs. money is kind of a false dichotomy, one that I wrestled with for a whole decade before I realized it’s not really necessary. There is a whole lifestyle continuum between being a salaryman with a house and 2.5 cars and taking up a vow of poverty 😀

    Hooray for freelance design work in my case – and illustration in yours! May the two worlds come together.

    • June 5, 2009 12:47 pm

      Your ‘stuff’ not only helps, it invigorates. You’re already a good teacher. Next – a book for publishing.

      It’s so outré to be wealthy anyway – and nowadays the internet is a great help with acquiring recognition/assignments. I’ll drink a voddie to the merger – glad you like the (current) blog theme. :mrgreen:

  3. studiomysteries permalink
    June 4, 2009 11:35 pm

    P.S. The blog layout is looking so nice – very airy and easy to read!

Comments are closed.

