Skip to content

Wedding Invitation

January 7, 2010

Ta-daa! Herewith the final, FINAL version of my step-daughter’s wedding invitation.

Her (brief) brief was that it had to fit on a narrow horizontal white card.

I was to illustrate that the occasion would be a relaxed, informal affair held in a country setting on a farm which boasts two fishing ponds. Pigs, goats, geese etc., were to be included. Some of the more adventurous guests (younger) will even be making use of the accommodation (!) provided. It’s going to be fun.

After numerous drafts, I finally drew the image in two parts – each on A3 paper as seen below. These were then digitally re-sized for a 99 x 210mm card. For some unfathomable reason, it wouldn’t scan well and therefore required intricate micro-detailed finishing. Which has taken days. DAYS. Tedious but worth it. I had to put them up here in a low resolution jpg so these images don’t really do it justice but you get the idea.

The happy couple are “thrilled” and I’m now officially a “clever old stick”. If only all clients were so easily pleased.

Now all I need to do is buy myself some stepmotherofthebride (SMOTB) wellington boots and go on a diet – only 6 months until the wedding.

25 Comments
  1. January 7, 2010 6:45 pm

    OMG it’s SO CUTE!!! I love the geese and the pig, but the goat eating the decorations takes the prize! Your humour shines, as always. Oh, and the love birds in the tree RULE!

    Clever old stick?! Clearly, you are not beating these people anywhere near enough.

    I love the idea of attending a wedding in Wellingtons. I even know what those are! Do I get bangers and mash as a prize?

    • January 7, 2010 7:48 pm

      You get an afternoon cup of tea…which comes with chocolate biscuits for dunking – your prize for spotting the love birds in the tree and for being so knowledgeable about British culture – and don’t forget to hold your pinky aloft in the appropriate manner whilst sipping from your china (of course, only the best for you) tea cup. :grin: Thank you for smiling whilst you typed your comment. Wellie-boots aren’t really an option so fingers crossed for warm sunny weather.

  2. January 7, 2010 7:07 pm

    So Cool!
    The tree is amazing, the entire invite is creative and full of personality. She (step daughter) and you should be proud.
    About that fish jumping out… grab a rod and reel and think of me when reeling in! I love to fish!

    • January 7, 2010 7:53 pm

      Thanks Ryan, they are delighted with my effort, thank goodness. The fish is a nod to her fiancé who is also a very keen fisherman – and she loves to cook fish – so a perfect partnering.

  3. January 7, 2010 9:41 pm

    This is terribly cute! I especially like the geese and the goat eating a garland, how wonderful. Congratulations on this happy occasion.

    I found your blog through Leslie’s. Is she a delight?

    • January 7, 2010 9:50 pm

      Hi Alex – Thank you – I’ve already been admiring your fresh artistic talents via Leslie’s blog – Leslie is very delightful indeed….this will make her blush.

  4. January 8, 2010 2:44 am

    This is soooo YOU! The tree with the lovebirds is spectacular. This is whimsical and beautifully designed and not cluttered looking with all that you were asked to include. Plus it is the kind of wedding invitation that would make me want to go and be part of it all! I can’t believe all you had to do to get it ready for the printer. You Rule, June.
    On another note, You don’t want to sleep over in a teepee? I laughed so hard when I clicked on accomodations. :)

    • January 8, 2010 11:02 am

      You got all that? Praise indeed Leslie, thank you. I’m still hung over after all that pixel-at-a-time work and can assure you that there won’t be enough wine at the wedding reception to make my sleeping in a tepee an acceptable option; :mrgreen: hotel room with comfy beds and a spa already booked.

  5. January 8, 2010 3:32 am

    THIS INVITATION ROCKS! The first thing that caught my eye was the goat, standing on his hind legs and chowing down on the decorations. Right then I knew this is gonna be a fun wedding. The love birds in the tree is a lovely detail. I love the tent and the banner with their names. But it looks a little windy there. Will the tent be heated?

    Your step daughter and her beau are very lucky indeed to have you to make this invite for them.

    A few questions:

    Once my invitation arrives, will there be OTHER accommodations available besides tents. I don’t do camping.

    Can we go to the July 27th ‘How to Butcher a Pig’ event? That’s something I wouldn’t want to miss!

    Will the farm animals be attending the services? What will the geese & pig be wearing? I don’t want my outfit to clash with theirs.

    Great job. This post was worth waiting for!

    • January 8, 2010 11:38 am

      Hurhurr! You’re making me giggle – so glad you like it and that you noticed all the details and I knew that if anyone noticed that pig-butchering event, it would be you. :lol: The weather should be hot, so even designer Wellies :grin: won’t be necessary, and geese feathers are very démodé dontcha’ know! It will be a jolly wedding, they’re a fun couple.

  6. January 9, 2010 3:06 am

    Wow, June,

    Purple or Pink, What Perfect Color!

    I love it instantly, cute, cheerful, happy.

    your talent is as shining as the rising sun in the morning.

    have a awesome weekend.

    jingle

    • January 9, 2010 10:44 am

      Thank you for your sweet description of my talent Jingle, you are good with words – the ink bottle label says the colour is ‘plum’.

      • January 9, 2010 10:59 am

        I am not expert on labeling colors, thank you for teaching me the color of “plum”, which sounds juicy and happy in mind. :)

        enjoy a GREAT one.

  7. January 9, 2010 9:03 am

    June, This is really wonderful! PRETTY! The venue looks amazing. And then there’s still the original sketches that will be a treasure for them to keep! Cecily.

    • January 9, 2010 10:48 am

      Thanks – it was an enjoyable challenge from which I learned so much. The wedding portrait you recently drew for your friends is very special.

  8. January 10, 2010 1:50 pm

    Hey June
    I love this – it conveys a sense of occasion and a lightness that I think is delightful. I also love the goat. We grew up with goats around this is such a typical ‘goat thing’. You are so clever!
    Are you going to be doing all the other graphics related to the wedding? And if so, are you going to relate them to this theme?
    Stephen

    • January 11, 2010 12:50 pm

      Thanks for the feedback Stephen. As far as I’m aware this is my bit finished, my step-daughter isn’t giving too much away – we’re off to the printers tomorrow so should find out more then.

  9. January 12, 2010 4:12 pm

    I admire this precision and I can’t help smiling… it is so cute, so happy! Bravo!

    • January 12, 2010 5:40 pm

      Thank you for popping in – I’m very pleased that they made you smile….my work is done! :grin:

  10. January 12, 2010 9:02 pm

    I have a new avatar pic? Did I change it in a feverish moment? I swear I don’t remember!

  11. January 12, 2010 9:04 pm

    Oh! I’m not blue anymore. (It’s about time!) Must be this damn new computer that I still can’t figure out. Oh well, who cares about anything when I have hot whiskey with honey and lemon to drink.

    Hic to you too!

    • January 12, 2010 9:53 pm

      Looks like that hot alcoholic cold remedy is working for you already! :grin: Whatever, you gave me a good laugh before I pack up for the night.

  12. January 15, 2010 3:50 am

    Very nice invitation. Looks like a wedding everyone will want to attend. I’m waiting by the postbox for mine.

  13. January 15, 2010 7:40 am

    It’s a great drawing. Congrats. It’s just perfect.
    K

  14. January 20, 2010 11:21 am

    Thank you all for your kind comments.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

