Skip to content

Jingle bells

December 17, 2009

Fighting my way from beneath a mound of tinsel, herewith the last missive before Christmas whirls in …

None of my own art again (I’m currently covered in wrapping paper and sticky tape), but this card by genius Pulitzer Prize winning Cartoonist, Clay Bennett says it better than I can.

I’d like to take this opportunity to say thank you for visiting my blog this year – may all your baubles be shiny and your tinsel never droop…and once the sprouts have settled and the novelty slippers have lost their novelty, I hope that 2010 holds a plethora of artistic delectation for all of you.

16 Comments
  1. December 17, 2009 2:12 pm

    MERRY… Oh wait that’s a feminine name that might offend males, uh, HAPPY… oh wait can’t use that because it may offend the depressed or those that wish not to be happy, Oh I know Season’s Gr…. Oh wait there are no seasons anymore due to global warming, it’s always hot now (as I sit in 19 degree weather), O.K. you’re right the card says it all.

    Except for MERRY MERRY CHRISTMAS!

    • December 17, 2009 4:18 pm

      Hurr-hurrr! Very good. And a very Merry Christmas to you and your family Ryan.

  2. December 17, 2009 3:18 pm

    LOL! Loved Ryan’s comment. And the card you posted.

    Today at work we are having our Christmas Party, um no, I mean our Holiday Party. Oh no, we can’t say that either. It’s our Employee Recognition Party. (I don’t care what they call it. we always have fun.)

    I just celebrate the winter solstace now and look forward to the days getting lighter.

    So whatever you (in the global sense) celebrate, I hope it’s Happy. And to you June (personally) Merry Christmas and I too hope 2010 holds a plethora of artistic delectation for you as well.

    And maybe, just maybe (please) we can end some of the wars and fighting in 2010 too.

    • December 17, 2009 4:28 pm

      Thanks Carol, glad you’re having fun at the office for once. I think the world is sadly all out of ‘Peace’ for now – but we continue to hope.

      Censoring Christmas Carols is next and tinsel will soon be outlawed. If reports are to be believed, kids are now being told to stop leaving out cookies, milk and alcohol for Santa because it sends out a bad message: Santa is overweight, drives under the influence, fails to wear a seat belt, speeds and encourages extreme, risky behaviour such as roof-surfing and chimney-jumping. Sigh! So, Happy Winterval everyone!

  3. December 17, 2009 5:39 pm

    I AM a Christmas Carol (expected on Christmas, but born 3 days later in a manger on the 28th) That is how I got my name. I hope I don’t get censored. What would I be able to rant about in my blog?

    • December 17, 2009 7:09 pm

      Now, whenever I sing a Christmas Carol, I will forever think of you – but this is more like it…it will get you rockin’ right out of your chair – go Chuck! Whoa Carol, where you at????

      And don’t forget, it’s not ranting, it is social comment! Hope you have something special planned for your manger birthday.

      Also like this version, even if it is a practise session – with Keith Richards – OH YEA!

  4. December 18, 2009 2:59 am

    Love the card June! Thank you for your good tidings of joy! I also like how you presented it.You are fantastic with the computer! Wishing you and yours the same this year.I should be wrapping.Takes me 15 minutes a present and that can get exhausting.

    • December 18, 2009 8:39 am

      Thanks, but nothing special about my presentation Leslie, just an image I found – can’t remember exactly where as it was last year.

      We arty types are notorious for compulsively creating a masterpiece with every gift we wrap aren’t we? Think it’s called ‘Wrap Art’, when we spend more time and money on the presentation than on the gift inside. :lol: :lol: I’m taking medication for my own wrapping affliction. (Hic!)

  5. December 18, 2009 11:56 pm

    Merry Happy Merriness! Or something to that effect! Wish you lots of holiday awesomeness and happiness and to belch from fantastic meals consumed in great company.

    • December 21, 2009 10:23 pm

      Hoping yours and Meeka’s is muchly better than anticipated Anya…..burrrph! Pardon me!

  6. December 19, 2009 3:18 am

    Thanks for not DEEPLY offending me by saying those awful words, “Merry Christmas”. Would have ruined it. Happy merry times to you..

  7. Jingle permalink
    December 22, 2009 11:50 pm

    How are you this evening?

    Jingle bells, you are ready for Christmas here, what a joy!
    Bless you and happy holidays!

  8. Camilla permalink
    December 26, 2009 6:20 pm

    I just want to wish you a merry christmas (a bit late, but still).. I hope you are enjoying the holidays :-)

    • December 27, 2009 10:55 am

      Thank you – best wishes to you and your family also.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

