Skip to content

I am procrastinating

December 10, 2009

But at least I’m ACTIVELY and STRUCTURALLY procrastinating. Which means that everything in my house is clean, the telephone cord is meticulously untangled, pencils sharpened, computer page repeatedly refreshed and I have a sudden overwhelming urge to rush out and buy a stack of energy-saving light bulbs.

Why am I doing my imitation of somebody who cares about housework? I’ve started my step-daughter’s wedding invitations. Finally. It’s surprisingly scary undertaking something so important for someone about whom I care so much. So far it’s going well but yikes! I get nervous about messing it up, which is why I’ve accomplished so many pointless tasks.

So procrastination is my main reason for showing you where I have to suffer scrunch myself when doing painting and drawing. My husband uses the table as his desk…although I shoo him off one day each week. I’ve stuck the reference pictures to the back of his computer monitor.

I can’t wait until we move house next year where I dream of having my own ‘studio’, with some purpose-built storage for all my equipment, instead of the minute space I have to cram things into at present.

No – you’re not allowed to see what I’ve done so far – because she sometimes looks at this blog and I’m keeping her and her fiancé in suspense until more progress has been made.

Still haven’t put up any Christmas lights or glass baubles.

But I’ll do that tomorrow.

Probably.

16 Comments
  1. December 10, 2009 11:02 pm

    Dedicated studio space is going to kick so much ass. But for someone so scrunched up, you are very organized! My own storage system consists of sticking everything into a giant pile on the floor. I call it The Pile.

    Waaaa! I want to see the invitations! Get working, woman.

    • December 11, 2009 9:35 am

      Bwahaaa! More like organised chaos – this was taken before I started splashing paint everywhere – and I cropped away the shelves surrounding my equipment drawers. Hah! you forget I’ve seen photos of your very neat work areas….so it must be a tidy pile.

  2. December 10, 2009 11:50 pm

    I’ll think of you tomorrow, June. I’m dragging the tree up from basement tonight and am decorating tomorrow, also. Your area is cramped. Mine is kitchen table and I have to shelve everything nightly. Yipee for next year and more space!

    • December 11, 2009 8:50 am

      Yes, I also usually have to clear the table in order to eat our evening meal. I know. Very unreasonable. The people that live here expect to be fed. Every day! It’s insane.

  3. December 11, 2009 4:53 am

    Knowing that you are doing it is half the battle – knowing the reason is more – heh heh – pressure from us should also count some – these are going to be special – just because it is you and you are tops at this stuff – S

    • December 11, 2009 8:45 am

      I like you calling it my ‘stuff’ and thanks for having faith in me. Now I must get off to do more stuff.

  4. Jingle permalink
    December 11, 2009 8:17 pm

    being organized makes you feel great. you made it as a surprise to your loved ones, which appears more interesting…good for you that you are moving and a better living condition is waiting for you.

    sweet dreams.
    happy wekend1

  5. December 12, 2009 5:40 am

    Procrastination and I are BEST FRIENDS!

    At least your procrastination with painting benefits other parts of your life/house. Sounds like you have the neatest, cleanest house this side of London!

    Can’t wait to see what you’re doing for the invitation. Don’t leave us hanging for too long.

    • December 12, 2009 4:18 pm

      Yea, never do today what you can safely put off until tomorrow. Small spaces demand tidiness.

      May be a while before I can reveal the invitation work – huge learning curve for me – also it’s such a big deal for my step-daughter’s special day, they need to be happy with it before others see it. When the time is right though, I hope to show the steps I take from start to finish.

  6. December 12, 2009 1:54 pm

    Congratulations on receiving the RA Award, June! Carol made a great choice.

  7. December 15, 2009 4:58 pm

    This really looks so organised. I’ve had to put my paints into boxes because now we’re using our log burning stove for heating. Before it got cold I had everything spread out on it as a work space next to my easel! So in the winter I have to spread them all over the kitchen table instead!
    Anyway, at least I’m lucky in that I’ve not got it actually snowing inside my house- now I know why you call yourself inksplodge.Sorry I couldn’t resist that.

    • December 16, 2009 9:47 am

      This is the ‘before’ shot – the ‘after’ was messier….with several feet of snow. Heh! Yes, the splodges are a giveaway and often intentional

  8. December 16, 2009 6:57 am

    You’re doing such great work, June! I’m sorry I’ve been so wrapped up in, well, wrapping things up, that I haven’t visited blogland in weeks.

    I was sooo spoiled in my old house. I had TWO desks all to myself, all the time. And you get one surface once a week and do all that!

    Off topic, but I saw in an earlier post that you are a Jim Carrey fan. I confess that Ace Ventura Pet Detective is one of my favorite comedies of all time. I can’t send a package by UPS without worrying that he’ll be delivering it.

    • December 16, 2009 10:46 am

      Hello my friend. I hadn’t anticipate your involvement here…once you’re settled into your new home, taking that art class, you may feel compelled to begin your own creative blog. Glad you’re also a Jim Carrey fan – I never tire of watching him.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

