Skip to content

Got your tinsel in a tangle?

December 2, 2009

Me: What d’you call those things, you know,… those little shiny, sparkly things I told you about yesterday?

Husband: I don’t know…but I think we definitely ought to get some.

Done all your Christmas Shopping? Of course not.

Got the decorations up yet? No, neither have I.

At least now that the boy is more grown up, ‘Father Christmas’ doesn’t get all the credit for my gift-buying efforts.

Me: You are incorrigible!

Husband: Well, stop incorriging me then!

20 Comments
  1. December 2, 2009 7:09 pm

    You’re Back. Hurray! I, for one missed you. These primary color Christmas ornaments are totally beautiful and your splatter is a wonderful touch to make them look festive. As for the conversation, I cannot believe how far behind I am. Have to get the tree out and finish shopping, too! I like the transparency in the overlapping ornaments. Good job. …..and you thought you couldn’t watercolour way back when.

    • December 2, 2009 8:37 pm

      Oh I missed you too!!!! I missed everyone. Have to confess to being more than a little influenced by the brilliant Karen Kurycki as you’ll see if you click on the link…it began as a technical exercise, but as the festive season is almost here I couldn’t resist making them look like tree decorations for a blog post.

      • December 2, 2009 11:50 pm

        Just checked out Karen’s sight. Good eye on an idea June. Now it’s snowing on your site! How did you do that? I wouldn’t want to have to shovel it in the morning!

  2. Jingle permalink
    December 2, 2009 7:09 pm

    good luck blogging! Not everyone will be nice, but you have the options to choose friends and enjoy it.

    You blod is bright in sight and enjoyable in content.

  3. December 2, 2009 7:10 pm

    I meant blog is bright in sight and enjoyable in content. Please disapprove the precious one and thank you.

    • December 2, 2009 8:38 pm

      Thankyou – you write very well too – by the way, you got your URL link wrong – but I corrected it in your second comment – you’ll never get a following if you make a mistake on your own site! ;-)

      • Jingle permalink
        December 3, 2009 2:57 pm

        Hello:

        I appreciate your tolerance and bright mood, you are honest and easy to let go,

        best. :)

  4. December 3, 2009 1:11 am

    Ho, Ho , Ho I’ve missed you so!
    I hope all is well and the holidays are treating you good. Of course once again you have posted a cool painting, but that’s only to be expected from you.

    • December 3, 2009 12:45 pm

      Santa? Is that you???

      I’m well again thanks. As you can see from this picture, now that I’ve actually learned the wet-on-wet technique I can’t stop using it – gives me such a kick the way the paint does it’s own thing.

  5. December 3, 2009 4:06 pm

    Lovely! It’s so cheerful and festive.

  6. December 4, 2009 1:43 am

    YAY! You’re back! We missed you so much. Love your beautiful, bright ornaments. Also love how you dealt with the transparency of the colors.

    A long time ago I gave up decorating so now I just get to enjoy others efforts. I expect to see some lights around those ornaments soon!!!

    • December 4, 2009 9:21 am

      No lights required with your smile illuminating the comments section Carol – but that’s what those splodges are meant to be – I always have lights up at Christmas, love ‘em.

  7. Jingle permalink
    December 5, 2009 2:03 am

    how are you?

    wishing you a sweet weekend.

  8. December 5, 2009 2:47 am

    These are very cool!

  9. December 7, 2009 9:39 am

    Thanks everyone.

  10. December 7, 2009 6:45 pm

    Hey June – this is so clean and clever – I hope you are cruising ever so gently into the season – S

    • December 8, 2009 10:12 am

      Clean AND clever…my favourite combination. Considering putting up some lights etc., tomorrow – the boy still looks forward to Christmas all year round – sweet!

  11. December 7, 2009 10:26 pm

    Ah, how the sight of them cheers me right up. Even though I haven’t started on the Xmas shopping. I haven’t even made the list!

    Keep looking at the yellow ball… keep looking at the yellow ball…

    • December 8, 2009 10:17 am

      Your funny comment cheered me right up (as always). I’m feeling smug after doing most of my gift ordering on-line last night.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

